Why you shouldn’t hate the snow

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 5.42.24 PM

You can really tell I’m a Canadian, eh?

It’s easy to hate things. Really easy. It takes practically no effort at all: you just instantaneously decide, hey, I really don’t like this thing with a strong passion. But you know what? It’s more rewarding to love things.

Case in point: I love snow. A lot. I woke up on Monday morning way too early for my liking because I had to go to work, and just before I rolled over and snoozed for another ten minutes I saw it through a slit in my curtains: snow. I kid you not, I sat straight up and crawled across my bed to pull open my curtains, with my eyes practically falling out of my head. I’m not exaggerating; I was that happy. The trees and ground were covered in a light layer of beautiful, white snow. I had the biggest smile on my face all the way to school, and I was the happiest I’d ever been at work on a Monday morning. I had a great day.

A lot of people don’t like snow. It’s cold. It’s wet. It’s slippery. You have to shovel and scrape off your car. It’s easy to find fault in winter’s greatest byproduct, to be pessimistic and in a bad mood for five months. But that makes me wonder, why? The snow will still fall no matter your opinion on it. So why waste time and energy hating it, and love it instead?

Snow is beautiful, truly. When there is a fresh new fall of it and it manages to pile up on the thinnest of branches, making everything look fresh and clean. When you’re walking at dusk during a new snowfall and the world seems to go silent, except for the starchy crunch beneath your feet, because the flakes floating and landing create a serene noise-cancelling effect. It’s amazing. Plus, there’s the whole science side of it that I can’t eve begin to understand. But these tiny little crystal things fall down from the clouds and form piles of fluffy, crunchy white crystals? How cool is that.

Woah, okay, I just got real poetic for a moment.

My main point is that if you go through life hating things you can’t change (and really don’t need to change), you’re going to be a rather unhappy person. It can take effort to fall in love, but I guarantee you that based on the amazing mood I was in on Monday and am still in tonight, it’s worth the effort.

Now, the cold? Okay, I don’t mind so much if you complain about the cold. But that’s only because my furnace is broken so my house is resting at a toasty 12 degrees, but I’m trying not to complain too much. Applications are now being accepted for a cuddle buddy. Please submit your name and average temperature of body heat you produce.

One thought on “Why you shouldn’t hate the snow

Leave a Reply

