Double sweats

Today, for the first time this year, I am wearing double sweats to school. And not even to my acting classes where I’m supposed to dress comfortably; no, I’m wearing double sweats to my university classes. And considering I am a fan of cute outfits and making an effort, you know it’s a rough day when.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the term “double sweats,” first of all I feel bad for you. To clarify: double sweats is when you wear both sweatpants and a sweatshirt at the same time. It is the epitome of comfort and liberation, but also the epitome of “the struggles are real.”

To my credit, my sweatpants and sweater are rather tighter fitting and pretty cute, and I am also wearing a cute leather jacket and infinity scarf to jazz it up. Though to my discredit, I’m also wearing Uggs.

Sometimes you just gotta do it, you know? You just have to say YOLO and hang the cute skirt back up in your closet. Sometimes wearing sweats can make you feel like a slob and put you in a worse, lazier mood. But I think in certain cases, wearing cozy clothes out in public all day can give you a comforting, swaddled feeling. Like you’re a happily wrapped burrito of polyester.

If you’re ever hesitant to wear sweatpants or a big sweatshirt to school or out in public, don’t be. You know why? No one cares. In fact, in university, half of the people around you are doing the same. It’s fun to express yourself through fashion and look nice, but some days, wearing double sweats can be rather therapeutic. I would personally recommend anything from the men’s section of H&M. They’ve got it together.

So you do you. I think that phrase should be a subtitle for this blog. Marecredi: your weekly dose of “you do you”.

Plus, I mean, I find boys who are working a nice pair of sweats look hella cute. Not to be shallow. It just had to be said.

Leave a Reply

