Today

I had an idea for what to write about today. But I’m not writing about it. Partly because the idea hadn’t fully formed in my mind, and partly because I think it would have become a senseless rant that stemmed from a moment of being really annoyed. And then last night as I was falling asleep I came up with a new, brilliant idea. And then I woke up and couldn’t remember it.

So here I am. At 10:47 pm. (Yeah, I know, I left this real late, sorry.) Without a whole lot to say.

I like writing about things that interest me or happen to me. I’m rather selfish in that way. I usually don’t comment on the world around me, partly out of fear that I wouldn’t do the topic justice or get the facts right. Which is why I am hesitant to talk about the shooting on Parliament in Ottawa today. This afternoon I felt zero inspiration, until I remembered the shooting, but I’m not sure I want to talk about it. But what else could I talk about? I feel like I can’t just move on and write a post about anything else since the shooting is the thing that happened today that is most relevant to me. So how can I talk about anything else?

That’s what interesting about the world. Stuff happens. People stop to look. But the world keeps going. Today feels like such a day, but tomorrow will still happen, and then tomorrow, and tomorrow. It’s so fascinating that the world keeps on spinning when it feels like it has stopped.

Shitty things happen a lot, and it sucks. It sucks because these things are awful, but it also sucks to think that the world we live in is one in which these shitty things happen. It’s upsetting, and I feel like we all say, “Well, that’s just how the world is.” But I hate that people think that. I hate that I think that.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this, or if I’ve gone anywhere with this. I hope everyone is having an okay day.

Leave a Reply

