Vote

Screen Shot 2014-06-10 at 10.41.01 PM

Politically passionate Marryl on the loose.

Alright, I’m not THAT strong of a political activist. But I do get invested in politics, particularly around election time, because it provides some hot provincial gossip and more sass than I thought possible. I also think it’s rather important to be politically informed because a) you live here so you should probably, like, I don’t know, care about the people in charge, and b) politics is a field of conversation that can easily leave you with egg on your face after one poorly educated comment. Plus having democracy is pretty rad.

I don’t like to tell people what to do so I apologize, but right now I’m telling you to vote in tomorrow’s Ontario provincial election. Just do it. Take the insignificantly small amount of time out of your day to scribble on a piece of paper and drop it in a box. You could scribble in kindergarten, and you sure as heck can scribble now.

I say this because while true democracy can sometimes feel more corrupt than true, we are hella lucky to live in a country that awards us the right to play a part in the decision of who runs the government. You could scroll through pages upon pages of Google News articles about countries living with an unethical government in which they have no say. Or in which women have no say (come on, countries, it’s 2014, get over your patriarchal selves). I don’t know about you, but having little to no say in the people who tell you what to do is just dumb. So understand, appreciate, and exercise your right to be democratically active. Don’t take it for granted.

And in so doing, please make the decision of who to vote for on your own. Vote for someone because you decided yourself that they are who you want to vote for. Don’t vote for who your parents are voting for. Don’t vote who your friends are voting for. Don’t vote for who you think others expect you to vote for. And please don’t eenie-meenie-miney-moe your vote. Become educated in the platforms of each political leader and decide for yourself what is most important to you. Read each party’s and leader’s website, and check this pretty snazzy platform comparer from the CBC (CBC is pretty legit so I would say it’s trustworthy). And please don’t base your opinions entirely off attack ads. Some political slander has truth behind it, but a lot of it is skewed with rhetoric and presents facts inaccurately. Nobody likes mudslinging.

(Side note: I feel like all of those “who”s should be “whom”s but I’m not hundo p sure and I want to avoid sounding super arrogant so I’m leaving them be. Sorry grammar police.)

Or you could decline your ballot, which seems to be a growing topic of discussion on social media. If you’re feeling unhappy about the state of political affairs and would rather not pick any of those crazy yahoos running for government and would like to make a statement about your displeasure, apparently if you hand your ballot back, unmarked, it’ll be counted as a declines ballot. I really don’t know much about that and I personally think I’m too young and new to voting to be able to understand the ramifications of declining a ballot. Again, I don’t want to tell you what to do, but a very smart professor of mine recently posted on Facebook that declining your ballot actually means supporting the worse alternative by not giving a party your vote, and that one party must be closer to your viewpoint than another. I really agree with this. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but we don’t live in a dictatorship. The leader of the party who wins isn’t going to control every single move you make. So if you have more faith in one leader over another, I suggest you choose them, or else you’re supporting the leader who you dislike more. Obviously I think you should do what you want, but please make an informed choice, especially when it comes to declining a ballot. Don’t let slews of articles and ignorantly passionate Facebook comments sway you towards a choice you may not understand.

Woah, things got for serious this week on marecredi.

That’s all my political ranting for now. Just a friendly reminder that I am not a political scientist and this blog is totally just my opinion. I’m 21. I don’t know everything. I hardly know anything. But I think voting is interesting and it would be pretty cool if you also thought so.

Vote.

No but seriously.

Like actually.

Pls.

Leave a Reply

